Toprak Razgatlioglu sets new lap record in Superpole qualifying

24 Th11 2021 | 07:04

Championship leader Toprak Razgatlioglu pulled out all the stops in the final Tissot Superpole session of the 2021 Superbike World Championship as he set a new lap record in Indonesia.

Razgatlioglu (PATA Yamaha) claimed Mandalika pole ahead of championship rival Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki Racing) with a time of 1:32.877s while Scott Redding (Aruba.It Ducati) claimed third place.

Rea was out in front with just a few minutes remaining in the session after posting a time of 1:33.201s, the fastest lap of the weekend, with Redding hot on his heels.

However, Razgatlioglu responded in the best possible fashion, becoming the first-ever rider to post a time in the 1’32 bracket at the 4.3km Pertamina Mandalika Circuit.

Garrett Gerloff (GRT Yamaha) lines up alongside Redding on the second row after pipping Andrea Locatelli (PATA Yamaha) to fourth place.

Gerloff and Locatelli are joined on the second row by Tom Sykes (Motorrad BMW).

Axel Bassani (Motocorsa Ducati), Alvaro Bautista (Team HRC), Michael Van Der Mark (Motorrad BMW) and Leandro Mercado (Honda Racing) round out the top ten.

Alex Lowes (Kawasaki Racing), meanwhile, missed out on the session after suffering a crash in FP3.

Leon Haslam (Team HRC) also missed out after failing to recover from a shoulder injury.


1 Toprak Razgatlioglu TUR PATA Yamaha 1:32.877s
2 Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki Racing Team +0.324s
3 Scott Redding GBR Aruba.It Ducati +0.379s
4 Garrett Gerloff USA GRT Yamaha +0.688s
5 Andrea Locatelli ITA PATA Yamaha +0.711s
6 Tom Sykes GBR Motorrad BMW WorldSBK Team +0.795s
7 Axel Bassani ITA Motocorsa Ducati +0.898s
8 Alvaro Bautista SPA Team HRC +1.174s
9 Michael Van Der Mark NED Motorrad BMW WorldSBK Team +1.203s
10 Leandro Mercado ARG MIE Honda Racing +1.277s
11 Chaz Davies GBR GoEleven Ducati +1.550s
12 Christophe Ponsson FRA Gil Yamaha +1.554s
13 Isaac Vinales SPA Orelac Racing Kawasaki +1.561s
14 Michael Rinaldi ITA Aruba.It Ducati +1.622s
15 Samuele Cavalieri SPA Barni Ducati +1.700s
16 Kohta Nozane JPN GRT Yamaha +1.783s
17 Tito Rabat ITA Kawasaki Puccetti +2.381s
18 Oliver Konig CZE Pedercini Kawasaki +2.987s